Back to sites

Umbata Falls

Energy Hydroelectricity
Status In operation
Commissioned 2008
PPA expiration 2028
Innergex participation (%) 49.0
Capacity - gross (MW) 23.0
Capacity - net (MW) 11.3
Client Independant Electricity System Operator (IESO)
Partner Ojibways of the Pic River First Nation

Project

The Umbata Falls run-of-river hydroelectric plant is located on the White River, a tributary of Lake Superior, some 30 kilometers southeast of Marathon, Ontario. This facility’s nameplate capacity is 23.0 MW, and its estimated yearly energy output is 109,102 MWh.

The plant is eligible for the federal government’s ecoENERGY initiative, intended to support renewable energy in Canada, which offers a $10-per-MWh incentive for the first ten years of the facility’s operations.

The Umbata plant has also been granted with ECOLOGO® certification, the only independent recognized environmental standard, for its reduced impact on environment.

ECOLOGO_RGB_Green
PRODUCT CERTIFIED FOR REDUCED ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT. VIEW SPECIFIC ATTRIBUTES EVALUATED: UL.COM/EL
CCD 003

Partnership

The facility was created through a successful partnership between Innergex and the Ojibways of the Pic River First Nation, who owns a 51% share in Umbata Falls. The remaining 49% is owned by Innergex.

Retour aux sites

Umbata Falls

Énergie Hydroélectricité
État En exploitation
Mise en exploitation 2008
Expiration du CAÉ 2028
Participation Innergex (%) 49.0
Puissance installée - brute (MW) 23.0
Puissance installée - nette (MW) 11.3
Client Independant Electricity System Operator (IESO)
Partenaire Les Ojibways de la Première Nation de Pic River

Projet

La centrale hydroélectrique au fil de l’eau d’Umbata Falls est située sur la rivière White, un affluent du lac Supérieur, environ 30 kilomètres au sud-est de Marathon, en Ontario. La centrale d’Umbata Falls a une puissance installée de 23,0 MW et une production annuelle estimée à 109 102 MWh.

La centrale bénéficie du programme écoÉNERGIE, une initiative du gouvernement fédéral visant à appuyer l’énergie renouvelable au Canada et qui offre un paiement incitatif de 10 $ par MWh pour les 10 premières années d’exploitation de cette centrale.

La centrale Umbata a obtenu la certification ECOLOGO®, la seule norme indépendante canadienne reconnue en matière d’environnement, pour son impact réduit sur l’environnement.

ECOLOGO_RGB_Green
PRODUIT CERTIFIÉ À IMPACT ENVIRONNEMENTAL RÉDUIT. VEUILLEZ CONSULTER LES ATTRIBUTS SPÉCIFIQUES ÉVALUÉS: UL.COM/EL
CCD 003

Partenariat

La centrale est le fruit d’un partenariat réussi entre Innergex et les Ojibways de la Première nation de Pic River, qui détiennent 51 % des intérêts dans la centrale. Innergex détient pour sa part une participation de 49 %.